

TAURANGA NETBALL CENTRE

ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING MINUTES

Thursday 23rd November 2023 at 6.00pm

Welcome:

Nicola Compton (Board Chair) welcomed everyone to the Annual General Meeting 2023 of Tauranga Netball Centre and thanked everyone for attending.

Mikaere Sydney (Rangiwaea) opened the meeting with a Karakia at 6:05pm

Nicola acknowledged the attendance of the Tauranga Netball Centre Life Members Sharyn Golding and Christine Healey. Service Members Jackie Smith, Joan Bathe-Taylor, Tanya Rohloff, Raua Reihana, and Lynne Clay. The Tauranga Board members also acknowledged as attending were Nicola Compton, Lynne Clay, Pam Clayton, Rick Powdrell. Staff members Tracy Walters, Tania Walters and Paula Vickers.

Housekeeping: Emergency procedures were advised to all attending.

AGM Procedures:

Only Delegates representing clubs, schools and umpires group may speak.

Present: Michelle Rawiri (Arataki), Tanya Rohloff (Eastern Districts), Shelley Sherwin (Greerton Marist) Kura Martin (Judea/Huria), Michelle Tenbroek (Mt Sports), Kura Reihana (Ngāti Hangarau), Rakaia Rose (Pāpāmoa Beach Sports), Erin Gardiner (Rangataua/Papaka), Rangi Ward (Tauranga Sports) Lisa Williams (TCD), Tania McClusky (Te Puke Sports), Trina Tutaki (Team Maven), Jo-Marie Baker (Total Rehab), James Compton (Hannah's World), Kristin Gilbert (Aquinas College), Kathy Crow (Bethlehem Primary), Louise Turner (Omokoroa Point School), Rachel Ford (Tauriko School), Jonelle Crone (Te Puke Intermediate), Michelle Smith (Te Wharekura o Mauao), Andrea Clarke (Mount Maunganui College), Chris Matheson (Otumoetai College) , Christine Healey (Umpires Group)

15 clubs or school delegates are required to form a quorum which is reached.

Observers: Jade Campion (Tauriko), Mikaere Sydney (Rangiwaea), Murphyne Rawiri (Arataki), Jordan Sherwin (Greerton Marist), Raua Reihana (Ngāti Hangarau), Leon Tauariki (Ngāti Hangarau), Kassia Daysh (Eastern Districts), Nicole Tuporo (Fusion).

Apologies: Jos Pemberton (Life Member), Annette Friel (Service Member), Dorcas Kayes (Life Member), Ruth Southwood (NNZ), Christine Brown (Bethlehem College), Jo Taele (Tauranga Primary School), Rochelle Glover (Oropi), Pahoia school, Leigh Ashton (WBOP Zone), Rose Powdrell (Umpire executive), Rachel Davis (WBOP Zone), Natalie Kelly (WBOP Zone), Casey Kopua (Matamata College), Julie Taylor (Selwyn Ridge), Juliet Dunlop-Fraser (Katikati College), Ngaro Slade (Pikiao), Stacey Sutherland (Matua School), Te Manawa ō Pāpāmoa, John Koning, Maree Body (TNC Umpire Lead/TNC Life member)

Roll Call: Actioned

Moved: Louise Turner (Omokoroa Point School)

Seconded: Kura Reihana (Ngāti Hangarau)

Minutes of Previous Annual General Meeting:

The minutes of the previous Annual General Meeting were displayed for all attendees Nicola briefly reviewed the 2022 minutes.

Moved: Jonelle Crone (Te Puke Intermediate)

Seconded: Christine Healey (Umpires Group)

All: Carrie

Annual Report:

The Annual Report for 2023 was viewed via screen.

Nicola acknowledged all the efforts putting the report together, and especially Tania who collates the report ready for everyone to view.

Nicola briefly reviewed the 2023 report with the attendees. She acknowledged our sponsors and funders. The attendees were advised that the AGM report will be accessible on the TNC website. Nicola noted that it is important to those involved in documenting highlights at the centre to be detailed and ensure that moments in time can be researched later for future members.

Nicola acknowledged our high performing umpires during 2023 Connor Pascoe, Keni Kingi, Gemma Groenewald, Siobhan McFadyen and Renee Smit who had all been appointed to finals at national tournaments and are being recognised at a national level. Thankyou to Maree and umpire executive for all your efforts.

Future Ferns is growing enormously, big thank you to Paula at the future ferns coordinator who does an amazing job.

No exceptions have now completed its 17th year with this amazing initiative being the brainchild of Helen Dodge. Thank you to Louise Turner for all your work with this and to Annette who has supported you this year.

An increase with college teams reaching 110 registered teams on a Friday night, where full capacity has nearly been met.

Nicola also acknowledged the top results for Tauranga Netball Centre representative teams during 2023 with 5 of our 7 teams ranking in the top 8 nationally. A big thank you to Deb Fuller who continues to strengthen this programme and promote top results at these national tournaments. Nicola also acknowledged this was the first time there was an Under 17s men's national tournament of which Tauranga was able to enter a team.

Moved: Nicola Compton (TNC Board Chair)

Seconded: Kristen Gilbert (Aquinas College)

All: Carried

Financial Report:

Nicola Compton presented the financial accounts to the members.

Nicola acknowledged the support we have received through our funders who have supported representative costs allowing opportunities for our young players to compete at their respective preseason and national tournaments, representing Tauranga netball. Also, salaries which supports the service we then provide the netball community significantly.

Nicola acknowledged positive revenue streams during 2023 with the canteen, holiday programme, Aims, Player development programmes and Funding of which some designated grant money is sitting on the balance sheet to be used on salaries during 2024.

Nicola advised the netball registration fees will not increase during 2024.

Moved: Nicola Compton (TNC Board Chair)

Seconded: Shelley Sherwin (Greerton Marist)

All: Carried

Election/s:

There are 3 Board vacancies. We have received 2 nominations from Mikaere Sydney and John Koning.

No vote required. Congratulations to Mikaere Sydney and John Koning who have been elected as board directors in 2023.

Board Members:

Pam Clayton	Board Director	Re-elected	2021	Term Ends 2024
Nicola Compton	Board Director	Re-elected	2022	Term Ends 2025
Rick Powdrell	Board Director	Re-elected	2022	Term Ends 2025
Lynn Clay	Board Director	Re-elected	2022	Term Ends 2025
Mikaere Sydney	Board Director	Elected	2023	Term Ends 2026
John Koning	Board Director	Elected	2023	Term Ends 2026

Moved: Michelle Smith (Te Whare Kura o Mauao)

Seconded: Kura Martin (Judea/Huria)

Nicola acknowledged Maree Body for her lengthy service as a board member and to Leanne Emery for her service as a board member.

Remits: No Remits submitted

<u>Life and Service nominations</u>: No Life or Service nominations in 2023. Nicola indicated to members how important it was for clubs and schools to look within their membership and nominate ahead of next years AGM those members that should be acknowledged for these awards.

Jackie Smith and Joan Bathe-Taylor were acknowledged as long-time service members who have now been awarded a plaque in recognition for their service.

General Business:

Bay Park Plan Progress

Rick Powdrell went over the new plan that has been proposed at Bay Park which includes a relocation to Bay Park for Tauranga Netball Centre. The proposed map was explained in more detail and members present were advised that the Tauranga Netball board intends to keep all members informed and updated as the plan further develops. The timeline of this project has been advised to be completed ready for the 2026 season. Project leads from TCC and BVL have advised they are working towards having the project signed off prior to the election of a new council. Several members suggested that TNC involve the netball community and media to support the project working towards the project progressing to completion and not being potentially impacted by change in council.

Nicola Compton thanked everyone for attending and invited everyone to stay for refreshments.

Sydney Mikaere (Board Executive, Rangiwaea) closed the meeting with a Karakia.

Meeting Closed 7:06 pm